British Final Winners

BritishFinalHoward de Walden Trophy – Winners of the British Finals

2018 Players’ Theatre (Wales) The Bridge by Gabe Torrens
2017 Total Arts Community Theatre (England)  Lear’s Daughters by Elaine Feinstein & The Women’s Theatre Workshop
2016 The Unknown OUTcasts  Contractions by Mike Bartlett
2015 Kirkintilloch Players (Scotland) Her Slightest Touch by Torben Betts
2014 Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society (Scotland) Victor’s Dung by Seamus O’Rourke
2013 Troupers (England) Death of Joe Egg by Peter Nichols
2012 Kirkton Players (Scotland) In the Blinking of an Eye by Jeremy Hylton Davies
2011 Tryst Theatre (Scotland) ‘Art’ (Act 1) by Yasmina Reza
2010 Lurig Drama group Cushendall (Ireland) Melody By Deirdre Kinahan
2009 Kirkton Players (Scotland) Two by Jim Cartwright
2008 Stewarton Drama Group (Scotland) One Good Beating by Linda McLean
2007 Total Arts Community Theatre (England) Find Me by Olwen Wymark
2006 Holywood Players (Ireland) The Invisible Man by Jennifer Johnston
2005 Another Theatre Company After Liverpool
2004 Beaconfields Youth Ball Boys
2003 Kirkton Players ‘The Steamie’ abridged version by Tony Roper
2002 Kirkton Players ‘Bouncers’ abridged version by John Godber
2001 Wick Players A Bench at the Edge by Luigi Jannuzi
2000 Runnymede Drama Group ‘Lear’s Daughters’
1999 Kirkton Players ‘The Dumb Waiter’ by Harold Pinter
1998 Wick Players ‘Lone Star’ by James McLure
1997 Kirkintilloch Players The Dancing Fusilier (Original Play)
1996 Barn Theatre Club, Welwyn Garden City Plaza Suite [Act III]
1995 Dewsbury Arts Group The Last Yankee
1994 Reigate Amateur Theatrical Society Ball Boys
1993 Dunaverty Players, Southend, Kintyre A Slight Ache
1992 Castaway, Aberystwyth After Liverpool
1991 Bangor Drama Club The Donahue Sisters
1990 The Headley Players, Bristol Bouncers
1989 East Essex Players, Southend on Sea Day of the Dog
1988 Paisley Old Grammarians A D S The Birthday Party
1987 Heath Players, Box Hill, Surrey Private Lives [Act II]
1986 Players Theatre, Rhondda The Forced Marriage
1985 Riverside Players, Heswall Skirmishes
1984 Bangor Drama Club Winners
1983 Bournemouth Little Theatre Club Little Eyolf
1982 Players Theatre, Rhondda Sganarelle
1981 Harodian Theatre, London Playing With Fire
1980 Paisley Old Grammarians A D S The Brute
1979 Tryst Theatre, Falkirk Equus [Act I]
1978 Extension Theatre Company Lessons To Be Learned
1977 Players Theatre, Rhondda After I’m Gone
1976 Slemish Players, Ballymena No Why
1975 Clarence Players, Belfast Doreen
1974 Maidenhead Players [Christian Council] Was He Anyone
1973 Claverley ? The Miracle Worker
1972 Wye Players, Hereford Trevor
1971 Wye Players, Hereford How’s the World Treating You
1970 Greenock Players A Shilling For The Beadle
1969 Pontllanfraith W I The Nine Fathers
1968 Paisley Old Grammarians A D S The Proposal
1967 Stirling Amateur Dramatic Club The Birthday Party
1966 George Square Players, Greenock The Long Christmas Dinner
1965 Edinburgh Graduate Theatre Group Getting and Spending
1964 Llynsafaddan Players They Simply Fade Away
1963 Belfast Drama Circle Heaven Is An Island
1962 Greenock Players Tail-Piece
1961 Oxford House Players God Is My Mountain
1960 St Dunstan’s Players, Bristol In the Zone
1959 Belfast Drama Circle Liberation
1958 Edinburgh People’s Theatre Who Loves Moraig [Act I]
1957 Grangetown Boys’ Club D G, Middlesborough Sordid Story
1956 Greenock Players The Reve’s Tale
1955 Llynsafaddan Players Davy Jones Dinner
1954 Octave Theatre Club, Northwood The Wedding Morning
1953 The Barrhead Players’ Club The Masterfu’ Wife
1952 Sutton Amateur Dramatic Club The Heiress [Act II]
1951 The Barrhead Players’ Club, Glasgow Displaced Persons
1950 West Hertfordshire Players’ Club The Proposal
1949 Birmingham International Centre Pullman Car Hiawatha
1948 Little Theatre, Aberdare Birds of a Feather
1947 Newport Civil Defence Dramatic Society Jephthah’s Daughter
Break of 7 years for duration of World War II
1939 Unity Theatre Club, London Plant in the Sun
1938 Midland Bank Dramatic Society, London Count Albany
1937 Newcastle Central Y W C A Drama Club The Willing Spirit
1936 Guild of Abbey Players, Abingdon The Spartan Girls
1935 Welwyn Thalians Not This Man
1934 Barr & Stroud Dramatic Society, Glasgow What Every Woman Knows [Act I]
1933 Birkenhead Institute Old Boys Drama Society The Road of Poplars
1932 The Players’ Club, Beaconsfield On the High Road
1931 Falkirk High School Former Pupil’s Drama Club Ardvorlich’s Wife
1930 Hampstead Play & Pageant Union The Man Who Wouldn’t Go To Heaven
1929 Liverpool Playgoers The Devil Among the Skins
1928 Ardrossan & Saltcoats Players The Old Lady Shows her Medals
1927 Welwyn Garden City Society Mr Sampson